Vesselina Kasarova Portrait 1997 (part 3) — transcript + translation

transcript (and translation) by G, a friend of mine. All contribution to improve the translation is welcome.

(thanks to MBWoland for youtube clip)
(update Aug 25, 2010: thanks to Smorgy, subtitles are now added to clip!)

V.K.: Ich habe eine grosse Glueck gehabt, hier in Paris mein Rollendebuet mit Romeo zu machen. Weil ich habe die Regie gesehen und ich habe gefunden wunderschoen…weil die Partie von Romeo ist so geschrieben, hier die bekannte Sachen, brauchen Ruhe auf der Buehne, also nicht ich meine chaotisches Laufen und Gehen, logisch spielen, weniger Bewegungen, dafuer singen.
V.K.: I am very glad to have had the opportunity to make my debut here in Paris with „Romeo“. I found the staging extremely beautiful. It accentuated the calm quality of Romeo’s appearances. All action on stage was reduced. The part of Romeo doesn’t need running around on stage. It needs consistent acting and a reduction of movements in favor of the singing.

Robert Carson: Sicher, das ist sehr spannend, so eine Rolle mit ihr zu machen, das ist eine neue Rolle fuer Vesselina, und ich glaube, das es eine sehr gute Rolle fuer sie ist. Diese Kraft dieses junges Mannes und die Spontaneitaet.
Robert Carson: It is very exciting to be working with her on that role. It is a new kind of role for her, but a very good one, I think. This young man is very strong, very spontaneous.

V.K.: Ich finde, Romeo muss eine junge Mezzo-Sopranistin sein, weil muss man die gute Figur haben noch, wenn man jung ist und die Stimme muss jugendlich sein und Koloratur auch haben. Ich finde, dass Romeo richtig fuer mich war.
V.K.: For me, Romeo has to be a young Mezzo-Soprano. When you are young, your body is still in a good shape; also your voice sounds young and has the right coloratura. Romeo was right for me.

Laura Claycomb: Viele Mezzo-Soprane versuchen ihre Stimme in dieser Partie kuenstlich dunkler zu faerben. Obwohl Vesselina eine zarte, kleine Stimme hat, wenn sie spricht, klingt sie wie ein Mann, wenn sie singt – maennlich. Ich will nicht sagen, es klingt wie ein Mann, nein, es klingt maskulin, es hat diese Qualitaet. Natuerlich nicht so wie ein Bariton oder Tenor. Sie hat eine hoehere Stimme, aber mit einer Tiefe, die tatsaechlich maennlich klingt. Wie sie Phrasen angeht und ihren Atem einsetzt, das ist schon sehr maskulin. Ich weiss nicht wie sie es macht, aber es ist sehr gut.
Laura Claycomb: Many Mezzos have the tendency to darken their voices for this role artificially. Vesselina’s speaking voice is small and high-pitched, but when she sings, it sounds somehow masculine. I’m not saying she sounds like a man; it is more of a masculine quality. Not like a baritone or tenor. Her voice has a depth that has a masculine quality. The way she approaches the phrases and works with her breath, that is rather masculine. I don’t know how she does it, but it is very good.

V.K.: Du gehst auf die Buehne, und du zeigst etwas vor so vielen Leute, und du kannst nicht sagen, „Entschuldigung, ich kann das besser.“ Und wiederholen. Du musst im Moment zeigen und du kannst nicht zurueck. Die naechste Vorstellung natuerlich, aber die Premiere ist das wichtigste. Zum Beispiel jetzt. Und du musst zeigen, alles was du kannst, das Beste.
V.K.: When you are on the stage performing in front of so many people, you can’t just say “Oh, excuse me, I can do better” and repeat. You have to show what you can at that precise moment. There is no rewind**. Even though there is of course always the next performance, nothing is more important than the premiere. That is when you have to show what you can, your very best.

V.K.: Ich habe immer Opera geliebt, also nicht nur Opera, klassische Musik. Um ehrlich zu sagen, ich habe nie gewusst, ich werde spaeter Opernsaengerin. Mit jedem neuen Jahr das kommt vor mir ich bekomme viel mehr Respekt vor dem, was ich mache. Respekt, ja.
V.K.: I have always loved the opera. That is, not only opera, but classical music in general. But to be honest, I have never thought of being an opera singer myself one day. With every year I am singing, my respect for what I am doing grows. Respect, yes.

V.K.: Ich moechte den Spass, den ich habe im Moment und die Lust auf Arbeit und die Liebe, das ich die nie verliere – die Liebe fuer meinen Beruf.
V.K.: I have really a great time working, I love to work and I wish that I will never lose that – and the love, that I will never lose the love for my profession.
___________________________________
** thadieu uses “rewind”. Not sure if she meant “there’s no way back” or “there’s no rewind”.

About thả diều
writing-challenged opera-addict

Leave a Reply

