reminder from the Barbican, and more

well, i tried to catch “another” opera post-Alcina, but the HD broadcast of the MET “Don Pasquale” with Anna Netrebko was sold out! She’s indeed very popular here in the US. Meanwhile, the Barbican is sending me all sorts of reminder of what I’ll miss this coming Saturday:

email from the Barbican, reminding me what I'll miss...

Good thing i was able to grab the radio recording to soothe my craving. Here’s Frau Harteros singing Alcina’s entrance aria Di’, cor mio, quanto t’amai

Di’, cor mio, quanto t’amai,
Mostra il bosco, il fonte, il rio,
Dove tacqui e sospirai,
Pria di chiederti mercè.
Dove fiso ne’ miei rai,
Sospirando al sospir mio,
Mi dicesti con un sguardo:
Peno, ed ardo al par di te.
Tell, dear heart, how much I loved you.
Show the wood, the spring, the stream
where at first I kept silent and sighed,
before I asked you to have pity on me.
Where, gazing into my eyes,
sighting at my sighs,
wish a look you said,
I suffer, I burn as ardently as you.
Dis-leur, mon cœur, combien je t’aimais,
montre-leur le bois, la source, la rivière,
où, soupirant, je me taisais
avant de te demander grâce.
Là où, tes yeux dans les miens,
soupirant à mes soupirs,
tu me dis en un regard:
Je souffre, je brûle comme toi.
Erzähle, mein Herze, wie verliebt ich war,
zeige ihnen den Wald, die Quelle, den Fluss,
wo ich schwieg und seufzte,
bevor ich dich um Erbarmen bat.
Wo du unverwandt in meine Augen schautest,
mein Seufzen erwidertest,
mich ansahst und sagtest:
Ich leide und brenne so wie du
.

Si, son quella (thanks to Smorgy)

_________________________
I am so addicted to Frau Harteros’ voice that I went ahead and dug around for her schedule (she has no official website with schedule, grrr):
2010
December
12,15,19,22,27, Puccini–La bohème, Bayerische Staatsoper
31: Concert with Jonas Kaufmann, Baden-Baden

2011
January:
10: Concert, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Geneva, Switzerland
February:
4: Concert, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Germany
6: Verdi–La Traviata, Deutsche Oper Berlin
21,24,26: Verdi–Il Trovatore, Oper Köln, Germany
April
3,6,9,12: Strauss–Der Rosenkavalier, San Diego Opera, USA
June
2,5,8,12,19: Strauss–Der Rosenkavalier, Nationaltheater, Munich, Germany
July
19,23: Strauss–Der Rosenkavalier, Munich Opera Festival, Germany
August
07: Concert with Jonas Kaufmann, Haus für Mozart, Salzburg Festival, Austria
November
14: Recital, Teatro alla Scala
December
31: Concert with Jonas Kaufmann, Baden-Baden
_____________________________
Looks like friends in Europe might see me more often than they want :-).

About thả diều
writing-challenged opera-addict

11 Responses to reminder from the Barbican, and more

  1. puritymccall says:

    If it is any consulation not entirely sure the performance will happen given how crazy the (reaction to) the weather has been here in UK. We finally managed to get our car out today, and the kids are enjoying a whole week off school unexpectedly!

    Still as our newspapers have been crowing today, apparently *even* in Germany there has been ‘snow chaos’…

    Like

  2. It’s hilarious! My sister, who lives in London, tells me whenever there’s a sprinkling of snow there, the tube stops running.

    Meanwhile, I just come from a lovely bike ride through the city in -2C. It’s dry – cold, exhilarating, but dry. And WE have a vicious winter reputation! I ask you.

    Like

  3. eyesometric says:

    I walked to my train station this morning to see if all is “normal” – and it is, so looks like I can at least get to London. If it is cancelled do they inform us? Nothing on Barbican website as at 11am. uk time.

    Like

    • puritymccall says:

      LOL I phoned today and they said it was going ahead, are we neurotic or what!

      I fished for singer cancellations and no word, but I guess it depends when they were arriving. Fingers crossed for my flight to City and Suzette’s to *gulp* Gatwoick tomorrow morning!

      Like

      • thả diều says:

        i *slightly* jealous . can imagine the singing and music can melt all snow and keep the Barbican glowingly warm tomorrow. wear layers, you might need to strip (depending on how close you’re to alcina and ruggiero)!

        Like

  4. thả diều says:

    hope all is in order and you gals have a great time enjoying beautiful music tomorrow!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

