musing

look what i accidentally ran into on youtube while fighting with Atlantic Ocean:

(video credit: LeCerfMalade) love the video! even though i know nothing about Star Trek (not even the characters’ names, they didn’t make it to vietnam).

that’s some dedicated video editing!

mildly unrelated:
Kasarova is pairing with Gruberova tonight at vivalavoce at 8pm EST:

(edit: here’s link to livestream, i currently tuned in.)

and while browsing that list, i just discovered Dvorák’s Rusalka! a quick trip to youtube, and now we also find out the name of that aria in Kasarova’s masterclass video in Basel, cool! Given that Gruberova is Slovak, i wonder if she had ever sung Rusalka…

About thả diều
writing-challenged opera-addict

9 Responses to musing

  1. earwormopera says:

    The video is great – I haven’t thought about Voyager in ages! It’s a really clever and sweet pairing of music and story. (People do tend to categorize Star Trek as ‘space opera’ . . . )

    Also, Kate Mulgrew (Captain Janeway) looks pretty boss in that white suit in the early part where she and Seven are in the bar.

    Like

    • Tove S says:

      Thank you! I love that episode, it’s called The Killing Game, and I thought Janeway’s white tux would sort of blend in with Kasarova’s white vest. They actually look a little bit alike, I think, and they definitely have the same kind of onstage authority.

      Like

  2. Eyesometric says:

    What a find! I too know nothing about this series – obviously my youth was not misspent enough!
    Too late for the radio broadcast alas.
    I also looked up Rusalka

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    What a brilliant video. I loved Voyager but have’t seen it in a while. There was always a lot of subtext between Janeway, Seven and the Borg Queen. Janeway had to rescue Seven from a Borg ship which would have been worse than hell. Unfortunately by the time they got back to Earth the writers had married off Seven to Chakotay which to most fans seemed unlikely. Thanks for posting.

    Like

    • Tove S says:

      Thanks! I completely agree about the subtext. Pairing off Seven with Chakotay out of the blue was so weird it sort of raises rather than allays suspicions about lesbian subtext, don’t you think? Especially since the last episode is all about Janeway realising she can’t live without Seven and goes back in time to undo her death… Pairing off Janeway with Chakotay would have been plausible, but Seven??

      Like

      • Sarah says:

        Yes I agree Janeway and Chakotay had more of a rapport. Although I think J was married wasn’t she at least I think she has some puppies. I thought the subtext was in my imagination until your video nicely illustrated it ! There was also Major Kira from DS9 although I didn’t watch that as closely ?

        Like

  4. thả diều says:

    so i googled, the show is actually not that old! now i kind of remember it usually showed up on tv late at night just after i got back from school. time to confess, back then i was always waiting for late-night “murphy brown”, the idea of a successful woman ordering around her secretary boys and co-workers were somehow more attractive 😀 (same goes for deputy chief brenda leigh johnson…)

    Like

    • Sarah says:

      Ah yes I can see why … 😉
      Thank goodness for google!

      Like

    • Tove S says:

      Thank you for posting my video! Logically, Captain Janeway ordering around her Starfleet officers should have been equally attractive, but I have to admit I never watched the show when it was on TV either. I didn’t fancy science fiction at all back then, found the spaceship interiors claustrophobic and depressing, and I vaguely recall finding Seven of Nine’s (my “Eurydice”) catsuit ridiculous and sexist.

      Like

Leave a Reply

