VK interview 2004

1.7 yr after moving here, the office is still a big mess with _all_ papers piled up in 1 stack. while digging through the whole thing looking for 2 particular articles (which i amazingly located), i also came across this interview, hidden amongst Pacific Water-themed articles. I’ve decided to scan it in because it’s soo insightful. here’s a clip, click on that photo for the pdf scan (thanks Smorgy for original article).

About thả diều
writing-challenged opera-addict

24 Responses to VK interview 2004

  1. Eyesometric says:

    A little oasis in the current VK desert – saved for bedtime reading. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. earwormopera says:

    I enjoyed it too – thanks.

    (Also, re: messy offices – I sympathize. Mine is a disaster.)

    Like

  3. yvette says:

    So did I! Thanks. And I watched her Rosina on Brava TV (I get it through my Mezzo renting) She was deliciously young and beautiful, voice and all!

    Like

  4. thả diều says:

    glad you guys enjoyed it, i did as well. quite detailed, my guess is her book is full of that and more.

    Like

  5. Tove S says:

    Thank you for posting this! Finally something in English instead of German.

    Like

    • thả diều says:

      i was happy to read that too, quite in-depth. am told she once gave a full english interview on bbc radio! too bad i don’t know of anyone who recorded it…

      Like

      • Tove S says:

        Funny, I’ve never even heard her say a word in English in any of the clips I’ve seen – only German, Russian, Bulgarian (and of course singing in Italian and French).

        Like

        • thả diều says:

          ah, but surely you’ve combed through this, our obsession exactly 1 yr ago? that’s when i first realized i can speak english (only language i manage) with her. also, from an insider, she spoke french to fans in Paris last year!

          edit: and we can also add singing in English to her repertoire, Handel’s Messiah this past july

          Like

        • operasmorg says:

          VK did amusingly tell about how she met her husband in Zurich. He went to see her 8 performances in a row, each time he went backstage afterward and kept talking to her in English (because he thought she, being a foreigner, would know English rather than German). She only knew one word in English, so whatever he said to her, she would only say ‘Thank you!’ back. 😀 She didn’t say how many ‘Thank you’ it took before he caught on, though. 🙂

          But, yup, she gave an interview in English when she went there to do Matilde di Shabran. It was broadcast on BBC3 radio. Unfortunately I couldn’t capture the recording and they took it down after a week. She did really well and only had to ask a translator for appropriate English word two or three times. I have a feeling she understands a lot more than she speaks.

          Like

  6. dehggial says:

    Just came across this interview, very nice. Thank you for posting it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thả diều says:

      i still totally love it! so much insight.. i quoted it often too

      Like

      • dehggial says:

        it also gave me an unexpected and similarly in depth dream with her! Haha, one of those dreams you normally have 😀

        I read a few interviews of hers over the years but this one tells us more about her as a person and how she thinks. I was very pleased to read about how she prepares a role – knowing what we see and get from her on stage – how she goes about singing Bellini and how she feels about recording.

        Liked by 2 people

        • thả diều says:

          dream you said? 🙂

          Like

          • dehggial says:

            yes, I was very surprised as I had maybe 3 since I started listening to her and you tend to have like 3 a week 😉 it was actually very funny how it started, there was a queue to talk to her but the building where the meet and greet was held was in like an industrial area, so we had to climb some steel ladders and go behind those massive shipping crates 😉 I got there first 😀

            Liked by 1 person

          • thả diều says:

            yes yes, please continue!

            Like

          • dehggial says:

            it was like Pokemon Go! Haha! VK Go. Anyway, there was a rush and I felt totally self conscious to run like that but I also thought hey! So I got there and she was sitting in this sort of what we call back home “summer kitchen” (she talked too much about Eastern Europe in the interview 😉 ), which is like a sun room or conservatory in the UK and she had a daughter not a son. I even thought, what? The kid was well baheved and just hung out with her. I think she was reading scores (I’m telling you, looks like I imagined her life based on the interview 😉 ). And then, armed with the knowledge that her English is good after all, I went and said hi very brightly and gave her some flowers (sneaked from you 😉 ) and told her “thank you for bringing so much joy to my life” and she smiled and kissed me on the cheek. Then I took her hand and we talked very friendly about roles and stage. She was very joke-y. Then she sort of just looked at me like “you’re time’s up” (haha) and I thought well she’s right, there’s still a queue behind me, so I walked away.

            Liked by 1 person

          • dehggial says:

            I know, right, what an interview can do? When I read something, if it’s very vividly written, I always sort of naturally imagine the whole scene.

            so, yea, thank you, Smorgie, the woman who interviewed her and obviosly her 😉 one of the best dreams I had in ages 😀

            Liked by 1 person

          • thả diều says:

            just letting you know i’m still super impressed with the dream 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          • dehggial says:

            😀 I can tell you more: she wore a white shirt (the kind she had in Orphee, which is probably due to that picture in the interview) but with nowadays hairdo and I can still remember the texture of her skin.

            Liked by 1 person

          • thả diều says:

            (still having fun reading this 😉 )

            Liked by 1 person

          • dehggial says:

            glad to hear! I was for once absolutely happy upon waking up. I thought “this is the best VK dream I can hope to have”, sort of 4 years of listening to her condensed in one dream. I’m very glad I remembered it, as I had a couple of pretty good ones I didn’t quite recall after the first moment I woke up.

            Liked by 1 person

    • thả diều says:

      (ps- thanks to Smorgie, when i first discovered VK i sent an email to Smorgie asking for more direct sources 😉 , got a few dvd’s of old concerts , Schwetzinger festival included, as well as a bunch of interviews, 1998 capuleti… and then i found out where Smorgie got from so i went through that source too.. and *then* i found out where that source got her source from.. though i never get to meet the original recorder of all the goodies :D)

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

