the poor Peter

For some odd reason, I listen to this Lied very often, almost once a week and often on repeat since that broadcast in May 2012.. and somehow, since yesterday afternoon, it has occupied my thoughts after hearing the 2nd take.. when figure out why it strikes so strongly, i will write a post about it.. but for now, let’s just ponder the difference and the soul of poor Peter, to a view of sailboats going about life in the river..

Schwetzingen Festival, 06/May/2012

.
P1090878A
.
Düsseldorf 17/May/2014


the 2nd take is part of this broadcast that’s currently still available on francemusique. Thanks to Al and dehhgial for the alert!
—-
text translation below.

Der arme Peter
Text by Heinrich Heine (1797-1856)
English translation by Peter Porter.

I

Der Hans und die Grete tanzen herum,
Und jauchzen vor lauter Freude.
Der Peter steht so still und stumm,
Und ist so blaß wie Kreide.

Der Hans und die Grete sind Bräut’gam und Braut,
Und blitzen im Hochzeitgeschmeide.
Der arme Peter die Nägel kaut
Und geht im Werkeltagskleide.

Der Peter spricht leise vor sich her,
Und schaut betrübet auf beide:
»Ach! wenn ich nicht gar zu vernünftig wär,
Ich täte mir was zuleide.«

II

»In meiner Brust, da sitzt ein Weh,
Das will die Brust zersprengen;
Und wo ich steh, und wo ich geh,
Will’s mich von hinnen drängen.

Es treibt mich nach der Liebsten Näh’,
Als könnt’s die Grete heilen;
Doch wenn ich der ins Auge seh,
Muß ich von hinnen eilen.

Ich steig hinauf des Berges Höh’,
Dort ist man doch alleine;
Und wenn ich still dort oben steh,
Dann steh ich still und weine.«

III

Der arme Peter wankt vorbei,
Gar langsam, leichenblaß und scheu.
Es bleiben fast, wenn sie ihn sehn,
Die Leute auf der Straße stehn.

Die Mädchen flüstern sich ins Ohr:
»Der stieg wohl aus dem Grab hervor.«
Ach nein, ihr lieben Jungfräulein,
Der legt sich erst ins Grab hinein.

Er hat verloren seinen Schatz,
Drum ist das Grab der beste Platz,
Wo er am besten liegen mag,
Und schlafen bis zum Jüngsten Tag.


Hans and his Grete are dancing for joy
And shouting at friends impolitely
Poor Peter is hardly that sort of boy,
His chalky face grimaces whitely.

Hans and his Grete are bridegroom and bride
Decked in their wedding clothes brightly.
Poor Peter’s chewed fingernails hang by the side
Of his overalls torn and unsightly.

Poor Peter is talking just to himself,
His friends observe him contritely–
“If I weren’t so sensible, I’d kill myself,
But I’d be sure to do it quietly.”

II

I have a pain here in my breast
Which splits my heart asunder,
Wherever I go, from east to west,
The only way is under.

It takes me to my darling’s side–
Perhaps she has the power
To heal me, but to save my pride
I flee from her and cower.

I clamber to the mountain top
And here where I choose to stop
Where nobody will find me
My falling tears blind me.

III

A figure staggers past the door,
Limping, deathly pale–it’s Poor
Peter, and the desperate sight
Stands people stock still in the street.

The young girls hardly dare to wave,
“He must have climbed up from the grave!”
Ah, no, you ladies kind and knowing,
Rather, the grave is where he’s going.

He’s lost his love–the grave’s the place
He’ll see her always face to face,
Where true affections don’t decay
But sleep on till the Judgment Day.

About thả diều
writing-challenged opera-addict

Leave a Reply

